Topics

»Cognition

Cognition definition

Stuart Karabenick, Research Professor
734.678.6221 | skaraben@umich.edu

Patricia M. King, Professor; SOE Ombudsperson
734.615.6740 | patking@umich.edu

»Community College

Community College definition

Peter Riley Bahr, Associate Professor
734.647.1652 | prbahr@umich.edu

Vilma Mesa, Associate Professor
734.647.0628 | vmesa@umich.edu

»Curricula

Curricula definition

Lisa R. Lattuca, Professor
734.647.1979 | llatt@umich.edu

Henry Meares, Assistant Dean for Recruitment, K-16 Relations, and Special Projects
734.764.9567 | hmeares@umich.edu

»Early Childhood

Early Childhood definition

Frederick J. Morrison, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.2214 | fjmorris@umich.edu

Christina Weiland, Assistant Professor
734.615.1530 | weilandc@umich.edu

»Early Literacy

Early Literacy definition

Nell K. Duke, Professor
734.615.0586 | nkduke@umich.edu

»Economics of Education

Economics of Education definition

Stephen L. DesJardins, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Ford School of Public Policy
734.647.1984 | sdesj@umich.edu

Susan Dynarski, Professor, School of Education; Professor of Public Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.5113 | dynarski@umich.edu

Brian Jacob, Professor, School of Education; Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Education Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.6994 | bajacob@umich.edu

Brian P. McCall, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.8366 | bpmccall@umich.edu

»History

History definition

Bob Bain, Associate Professor, School of Education; Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.0585 | bbain@umich.edu

Chauncey B. Monte-Sano, Associate Professor
734.647.4253 | cmontesa@umich.edu

»Inequality

Inequality definition

Peter Riley Bahr, Associate Professor
734.647.1652 | prbahr@umich.edu

Tabbye M. Chavous, Professor; Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)
734.764.6497 | tchavous@umich.edu

Matthew Diemer, Associate Professor
734.647.7369 | diemerm@umich.edu

Susan Dynarski, Professor, School of Education; Professor of Public Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.5113 | dynarski@umich.edu

»Instructional Improvement

Instructional Improvement definition

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.764.9568 | dball@umich.edu

David K. Cohen, John Dewey Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
734.763.0226 | dkcohen@umich.edu

Elizabeth A. Davis, Professor; Science Education
734.647.0594 | betsyd@umich.edu

Patricio Herbst, Professor; Chair, Educational Studies; Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.3745 | pgherbst@umich.edu

Robin Jacob, Assistant Research Scientist
734.647.4194 | rjacob@umich.edu

Janet H. Lawrence, Professor
734.647.1977 | janlaw@umich.edu

Donald J. Peurach, Associate Professor
734.615.4733 | dpeurach@umich.edu

Brian Rowan, Burke A. Hinsdale Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Research Professor, Institute for Social Research
734.615.0286 or 647.3409 | browan@umich.edu

»K-12

K-12 definition

Chandra L. Alston, Assistant Professor
734.647.1988 | clalston@umich.edu

Bob Bain, Associate Professor, School of Education; Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.0585 | bbain@umich.edu

Leah A. Bricker, Assistant Professor
734.647.2975 | lbricker@umich.edu

Gina N. Cervetti, Associate Professor
734.647.6298 | cervetti@umich.edu

Brian P. McCall, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.8366 | bpmccall@umich.edu

Allison M. Ryan, Professor
734.647.0597 | aliryan@umich.edu

Michaela Zint, Professor, School of Education; Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment; Professor, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.6961 | zintmich@umich.edu

»Language

Language definition

Gina N. Cervetti, Associate Professor
734.647.6298 | cervetti@umich.edu

Holly K. Craig, Professor Emerita, School of Education; Emerita Research Professor, University of Michigan
734.763.2887 | hkc@umich.edu

Anne Curzan, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Departments of English and Linguistics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.7676 | acurzan@umich.edu

Anne Ruggles Gere, Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor of English Language and Literature, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Chair, Joint Program in English and Education; Director, Sweetland Writing Center
734.647.2529 | argere@umich.edu

Kendra Hearn, Clinical Associate Professor; Chair of Secondary Teacher Education; Director of Teach For America Interim Certification Program
734.647.1310 | klhearn@umich.edu

Deborah Keller-Cohen, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Linguistics and the Program in Women's Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.9176 | dkc@umich.edu

Frederick J. Morrison, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.2214 | fjmorris@umich.edu

Annemarie Sullivan Palincsar, Professor of Education; Jean and Charles Walgreen Professor of Reading and Literacy; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.647.0622 | annemari@umich.edu

Cathy Hindman Reischl, Clinical Associate Professor
734.936.0872 | creischl@umich.edu

Enid Rosario-Ramos, Assistant Professor
734.647.0618 | erosario@umich.edu

Mary J. Schleppegrell, Professor
734.647.2449 | mjschlep@umich.edu

»Learning Environments

Learning Environments definition

Donald J. Peurach, Associate Professor
734.615.4733 | dpeurach@umich.edu

Allison M. Ryan, Professor
734.647.0597 | aliryan@umich.edu

»Learning Technologies

Learning Technologies definition

Nell K. Duke, Professor
734.615.0586 | nkduke@umich.edu

Barry J. Fishman, Professor, School of Information; Professor, School of Education
734.647.8027 | fishman@umich.edu

Liz Kolb, Clinical Assistant Professor
734.649.2563 | elikeren@umich.edu

Chris Quintana, Associate Professor
734.615.0287 | quintana@umich.edu

Jeff Stanzler, Lecturer
734.763.5950 | stanz@umich.edu

»Mathematics Education

Mathematics Education definition

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.764.9568 | dball@umich.edu

Hyman Bass, Professor, School of Education; Samuel Eilenberg Distinguished University Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.4043 | hybass@umich.edu

Timothy Boerst, Clinical Professor; Chair of Elementary Teacher Education
734.615.9048 | tboerst@umich.edu

Patricio Herbst, Professor; Chair, Educational Studies; Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.3745 | pgherbst@umich.edu

Vilma Mesa, Associate Professor
734.647.0628 | vmesa@umich.edu

Kevin F. Miller, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.1800 | kevinmil@umich.edu

Edward A. Silver, William A. Brownell Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
734.615.6580 | easilver@umich.edu

»Methodology

Methodology definition

Matthew Diemer, Associate Professor
734.647.7369 | diemerm@umich.edu

Betty J. Overton-Adkins, Clinical Professor; Director, National Forum on Higher Education for the Public Good
734.936.6995 | boverton@umich.edu

»Minority

Minority definition

Percy Bates, Professor; SOE Ombudsperson
734.647.1666 | pbates@umich.edu

Tabbye M. Chavous, Professor; Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)
734.764.6497 | tchavous@umich.edu

Matthew Diemer, Associate Professor
734.647.7369 | diemerm@umich.edu

Carla O'Connor, Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.647.0606 | coconnor@umich.edu

Betty J. Overton-Adkins, Clinical Professor; Director, National Forum on Higher Education for the Public Good
734.936.6995 | boverton@umich.edu

»Professional Development

Professional Development definition

Janet H. Lawrence, Professor
734.647.1977 | janlaw@umich.edu

Cathy Hindman Reischl, Clinical Associate Professor
734.936.0872 | creischl@umich.edu

»Psychology

Psychology definition

Gina N. Cervetti, Associate Professor
734.647.6298 | cervetti@umich.edu

Tabbye M. Chavous, Professor; Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)
734.764.6497 | tchavous@umich.edu

Matthew Diemer, Associate Professor
734.647.7369 | diemerm@umich.edu

Kevin F. Miller, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.1800 | kevinmil@umich.edu

Allison M. Ryan, Professor
734.647.0597 | aliryan@umich.edu

»Reading

Reading definition

Gina N. Cervetti, Associate Professor
734.647.6298 | cervetti@umich.edu

»Reform

Reform definition

David K. Cohen, John Dewey Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
734.763.0226 | dkcohen@umich.edu

Maria J. Coolican, Clinical Assistant Professor; Project Director, Ann Arbor Languages Partnership
734.417.6806 | mariajc@umich.edu

Donald Freeman, Associate Professor
734.763.5489 | donaldfr@umich.edu

Brian Jacob, Professor, School of Education; Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Education Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.6994 | bajacob@umich.edu

Donald J. Peurach, Associate Professor
734.615.4733 | dpeurach@umich.edu

»Science Education

Science Education definition

Leah A. Bricker, Assistant Professor
734.647.2975 | lbricker@umich.edu

Elizabeth A. Davis, Professor; Science Education
734.647.0594 | betsyd@umich.edu

Barry J. Fishman, Professor, School of Information; Professor, School of Education
734.647.8027 | fishman@umich.edu

»Teacher Education

Teacher Education definition

Bob Bain, Associate Professor, School of Education; Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.0585 | bbain@umich.edu

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.764.9568 | dball@umich.edu

Hyman Bass, Professor, School of Education; Samuel Eilenberg Distinguished University Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.4043 | hybass@umich.edu

Deanna Birdyshaw, Lecturer; Coleader of the Master of Arts in Educational Studies with Secondary Teacher Certification Program
734.763.6718 | dbirdy@umich.edu

Timothy Boerst, Clinical Professor; Chair of Elementary Teacher Education
734.615.9048 | tboerst@umich.edu

Maria J. Coolican, Clinical Assistant Professor; Project Director, Ann Arbor Languages Partnership
734.417.6806 | mariajc@umich.edu

Anne Curzan, Professor, School of Education; Professor, Departments of English and Linguistics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.7676 | acurzan@umich.edu

Elizabeth A. Davis, Professor; Science Education
734.647.0594 | betsyd@umich.edu

Barry J. Fishman, Professor, School of Information; Professor, School of Education
734.647.8027 | fishman@umich.edu

Donald Freeman, Associate Professor
734.763.5489 | donaldfr@umich.edu

Anne Ruggles Gere, Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor of English Language and Literature, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Chair, Joint Program in English and Education; Director, Sweetland Writing Center
734.647.2529 | argere@umich.edu

Debi Khasnabis, Clinical Assistant Professor
734.647.0604 | debik@umich.edu

Elizabeth Birr Moje, George Herbert Mead Collegiate Professor of Education and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Dean of the School of Education
734.647.9571 | moje@umich.edu

Cathy Hindman Reischl, Clinical Associate Professor
734.936.0872 | creischl@umich.edu

Matthew Ronfeldt, Assistant Professor
734.936.3656 | ronfeldt@umich.edu

Enid Rosario-Ramos, Assistant Professor
734.647.0618 | erosario@umich.edu

Shari Saunders, Clinical Professor; Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Teacher Education
734.764.2588 | sharisau@umich.edu

»Urban Education

Urban Education definition

Kendra Hearn, Clinical Associate Professor; Chair of Secondary Teacher Education; Director of Teach For America Interim Certification Program
734.647.1310 | klhearn@umich.edu

Robert Jagers, Associate Professor
734.647.0617 | rjagers@umich.edu

Carla O'Connor, Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.647.0606 | coconnor@umich.edu

Within This Section

Contact

Danielle Dimcheff
Director of Communications
Room 1360
734.763.4880
dpalincs@umich.edu

Additional Resources

  RSS
  Facebook
  Flickr
  Twitter