Experts

Chandra L. Alston

Assistant Professor
734.647.1988
clalston@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher quality
literacy
k-12
faculty
english and education
educational studies
doctoral

Peter Riley Bahr

Associate Professor
734.647.1652
prbahr@umich.edu
Expertise:
philanthropy advancement and development
masters
inequality
higher education and public policy
higher education and business administration
higher education
faculty
doctoral
community college
academic affairs and student development

Bob Bain

Associate Professor, School of Education; Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.0585
bbain@umich.edu
Expertise:
technology
teaching and teacher education
teacher effectiveness
teacher education
k-12
history
faculty
educational studies

Deborah Loewenberg Ball

William H. Payne Collegiate Professor; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.764.9568
dball@umich.edu
Expertise:
teaching and teacher education
teacher quality
teacher education
teacher certification
secondary education
mathematics education
instructional improvement
higher education
faculty
educational studies

Hyman Bass

Professor, School of Education; Samuel Eilenberg Distinguished University Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.4043
hybass@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
teacher certification
mathematics education
masters
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Percy Bates

Professor; SOE Ombudsperson
734.647.1666
pbates@umich.edu
Expertise:
minority
faculty
diversity and social justice

Timothy Boerst

Clinical Professor; Chair of Elementary Teacher Education
734.615.9048
tboerst@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
mathematics education
faculty
chair

Leah A. Bricker

Assistant Professor
734.647.2975
lbricker@umich.edu
Expertise:
science education
k-12
faculty

Gina N. Cervetti

Associate Professor
734.647.6298
cervetti@umich.edu
Expertise:
secondary education
reading
psychology
literacy
language
k-12
faculty
elementary education
educational studies

Tabbye M. Chavous

Professor; Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)
734.764.6497
tchavous@umich.edu
Expertise:
psychology
minority
inequality
higher education
faculty
educational studies
education and psychology
diversity and social justice

David K. Cohen

John Dewey Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
734.763.0226
dkcohen@umich.edu
Expertise:
secondary education
reform
policy
instructional improvement
faculty
elementary education
educational studies
educational administration and policy
doctoral

Maria J. Coolican

Clinical Assistant Professor; Project Director, Ann Arbor Languages Partnership
734.417.6806
mariajc@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
reform
languages
faculty

Holly K. Craig

Professor Emerita, School of Education; Emerita Research Professor, University of Michigan
734.763.2887
hkc@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy
language
faculty
emeritus faculty
educational studies
assessment

Anne Curzan

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Departments of English and Linguistics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.7676
acurzan@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
language
faculty
english and education

Elizabeth A. Davis

Professor; Science Education
734.647.0594
betsyd@umich.edu
Expertise:
technology
teacher education
science education
instructional improvement
faculty
elementary education
educational studies
education and psychology
doctoral

Stephen L. DesJardins

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Ford School of Public Policy
734.647.1984
sdesj@umich.edu
Expertise:
research evaluation and assessment
public policy in postsecondary education
policy
philanthropy advancement and development
higher education and public policy
higher education and business administration
higher education
faculty
economics of education

Matthew Diemer

Associate Professor
734.647.7369
diemerm@umich.edu
Expertise:
psychology
minority
methodology
inequality
diversity & social justice

Nell K. Duke

Professor
734.615.0586
nkduke@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy language and culture
literacy
learning technologies
faculty
educational studies
early literacy

Susan Dynarski

Professor, School of Education; Professor of Public Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.5113
dynarski@umich.edu
Expertise:
policy
masters
inequality
higher education
faculty
educational studies and statistics
educational studies and statistics
economics of education
doctoral

Barry J. Fishman

Professor, School of Information; Professor, School of Education
734.647.8027
fishman@umich.edu
Expertise:
technology
teacher education
science education
masters
learning technologies
faculty
educational studies
education and psychology
doctoral

Donald Freeman

Associate Professor
734.763.5489
donaldfr@umich.edu
Expertise:
teaching and teacher education
teacher education
reform
organizational behavior and management
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Anne Ruggles Gere

Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor of English Language and Literature, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Chair, Joint Program in English and Education; Director, Sweetland Writing Center
734.647.2529
argere@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
literacy
language
faculty
english and education
chair

Kendra Hearn

Clinical Associate Professor; Chair of Secondary Teacher Education; Director of Teach For America Interim Certification Program
734.647.1310
klhearn@umich.edu
Expertise:
urban education
language
faculty

Patricio Herbst

Professor; Chair, Educational Studies; Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.3745
pgherbst@umich.edu
Expertise:
mathematics education
instructional improvement
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Robin Jacob

Associate Research Professor
734.647.4194
rjacob@umich.edu
Expertise:
policy
instructional improvement
faculty

Brian Jacob

Professor, School of Education; Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Education Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.6994
bajacob@umich.edu
Expertise:
reform
policy
faculty
educational studies
economics of education

Robert Jagers

Associate Professor
734.647.0617
rjagers@umich.edu
Expertise:
urban education
faculty
education and psychology
doctoral
diversity and social justice

Stuart Karabenick

Research Professor
734.678.6221
skaraben@umich.edu
Expertise:
faculty
education and psychology
doctoral
cognition

Deborah Keller-Cohen

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Linguistics and the Program in Women's Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.9176
dkc@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy language and culture
literacy
language
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Debi Khasnabis

Clinical Assistant Professor
734.647.0604
debik@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
literacy
faculty

Patricia M. King

Professor; SOE Ombudsperson
734.615.6740
patking@umich.edu
Expertise:
philanthropy advancement and development
higher education and public policy
higher education and business administration
higher education
faculty
education and psychology
diversity and social justice
cognition
academic affairs and student development

Liz Kolb

Clinical Assistant Professor
734.649.2563
elikeren@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher certification
learning technologies
faculty

Lisa R. Lattuca

Professor
734.647.1979
llatt@umich.edu
Expertise:
teaching and learning
masters
higher education
faculty
doctoral
curricula

Janet H. Lawrence

Professor
734.647.1977
janlaw@umich.edu
Expertise:
professional development
philanthropy advancement and development
instructional improvement
higher education and public policy
higher education and business administration
higher education
faculty
academic affairs and student development

Brian P. McCall

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.647.8366
bpmccall@umich.edu
Expertise:
research evaluation and assessment
public policy in postsecondary education
policy
philanthropy advancement and development
k-12
higher education and public policy
higher education and business administration
higher education
faculty
economics of education

Henry Meares

Assistant Dean for Recruitment, K-16 Relations, and Special Projects
734.764.9567
hmeares@umich.edu
Expertise:
organizational behavior and management
middle school
faculty
dean
curricula
admissions

Vilma Mesa

Associate Professor
734.647.0628
vmesa@umich.edu
Expertise:
mathematics education
higher education
faculty
educational studies
doctoral
community college

Kevin F. Miller

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.615.1800
kevinmil@umich.edu
Expertise:
psychology
mathematics education
literacy
faculty
educational studies
education and psychology
doctoral

Elizabeth Birr Moje

George Herbert Mead Collegiate Professor of Education and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Dean of the School of Education
734.647.9571
moje@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
literacy language and culture
literacy
faculty
educational studies
education and psychology
doctoral
dean

Chauncey B. Monte-Sano

Associate Professor
734.647.4253
cmontesa@umich.edu
Expertise:
history
faculty

Frederick J. Morrison

Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.2214
fjmorris@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy
language
faculty
education and psychology
early childhood
doctoral

Carla O'Connor

Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.647.0606
coconnor@umich.edu
Expertise:
urban education
minority
faculty
educational studies
educational foundations and policy
educational administration and policy
education and psychology
doctoral

Annemarie Sullivan Palincsar

Professor of Education; Jean and Charles Walgreen Professor of Reading and Literacy; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
734.647.0622
annemari@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy language and culture
literacy
language
faculty
educational studies
education and psychology
doctoral

Donald J. Peurach

Associate Professor
734.615.4733
dpeurach@umich.edu
Expertise:
reform
policy
learning environments
instructional improvement
faculty
educational studies

Chris Quintana

Associate Professor
734.615.0287
quintana@umich.edu
Expertise:
technology
learning technologies
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Cathy Hindman Reischl

Clinical Associate Professor
734.936.0872
creischl@umich.edu
Expertise:
undergraduate
teacher education
teacher certification
professional development
masters
literacy
language
faculty
elementary education

Matthew Ronfeldt

Assistant Professor
734.936.3656
ronfeldt@umich.edu
Expertise:
teaching and teacher education
teacher quality
teacher education
faculty
educational studies
doctoral

Enid Rosario-Ramos

Assistant Professor
734.647.0618
erosario@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
literacy language and culture
literacy
language
faculty
educational studies
doctoral
diversity and social justice

Brian Rowan

Burke A. Hinsdale Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Research Professor, Institute for Social Research
734.615.0286 or 647.3409
browan@umich.edu
Expertise:
leadership
instructional improvement
faculty
educational studies and statistics
educational studies and statistics
educational studies
educational foundations and policy
educational administration and policy
doctoral

Allison M. Ryan

Professor
734.647.0597
aliryan@umich.edu
Expertise:
secondary education
psychology
middle school
learning environments
k-12
faculty
elementary education
educational studies
education and psychology

Shari Saunders

Clinical Professor; Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Teacher Education
734.764.2588
sharisau@umich.edu
Expertise:
teacher education
faculty
educational studies
doctoral
diversity and social justice
dean

Mary J. Schleppegrell

Professor
734.647.2449
mjschlep@umich.edu
Expertise:
literacy language and culture
literacy
language
faculty
english and education
educational studies
doctoral
chair

Edward A. Silver

William A. Brownell Collegiate Professor, School of Education; Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
734.615.6580
easilver@umich.edu
Expertise:
mathematics education
faculty
educational studies
doctoral
dean

Jeff Stanzler

Lecturer
734.763.5950
stanz@umich.edu
Expertise:
undergraduate
social studies
masters
learning technologies
faculty
educational studies

Christina Weiland

Assistant Professor
734.615.1530
weilandc@umich.edu
Expertise:
policy
faculty
educational studies
early childhood

Michaela Zint

Professor, School of Education; Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment; Professor, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
734.763.6961
zintmich@umich.edu
Expertise:
k-12
faculty
educational studies
assessment

Within This Section

Contact

Danielle Dimcheff
Director of Communications
Room 1360
734.763.4880
dpalincs@umich.edu

Additional Resources

  RSS
  Facebook
  Flickr
  Twitter