Monday, May 09, 2016

Teacher education program receives seven-year accreditation from CAEP

Tags: deans updates

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) recently accredited our teacher education program for seven years (May 3, 2016, to June 30, 2023). Our accreditation was offered “with no weaknesses or stipulations"—the strongest decision outcome possible.

This accreditation is a testament to the collective work that we have done to develop, enact, and continuously improve our teacher education program and the investments made by our talented and committed interns and the program instructors, leaders, and staff members who support their development as teachers.

This is terrific news! I especially want to thank Tim Boerst, Kendra Hearn, Betsy Davis, Bob Bain, Esther Enright, and Beth Grzelak, who, with assistance from Meri Tenney Muirhead and Kevin Hankinson, led this process and prepared the extensive documentation that resulted in this outcome. In addition, I want to recognize:

  • The faculty members who developed the program claims, provided materials, examples, and key information, and wrote and vetted text for the Inquiry Brief Report.
  • The graduate students, including Sarah Thomson, Sylvie Kademian, and Brad Crawn, who supported analysis, data representation, and reporting for the report.
  • The staff members who undertook many tasks, including tracking down data, supporting the development of the report, and organizing and facilitating the audit visit this past fall.
  • The participants in the audit visit and public comment period, including faculty members, mentor teachers, field instructors, and interns.
  • The associate deans, Carla O’Connor and Elizabeth Moje, for their strong and consistent support through the accreditation process

Please join me in congratulating everyone in our teacher education program for this terrific accomplishment!

Within This Section

News by Topic