Friday, November 21, 2014

Deborah Loewenberg Ball elected to board of directors of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Tags: ball, expertise, teacher effectiveness, teacher quality

Deborah Loewenberg Ball has been elected to the board of directors of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), a nonprofit organization dedicated to establishing definitive standards and systems for certifying accomplished educators.

“Dr. Deborah Loewenberg Ball is a distinguished educator with a strong commitment to transforming teaching and learning in our schools,” said Ronald Thorpe, president and CEO of NBPTS. “She will be a major asset in our effort to ensure that every student in America has the chance to learn and grow under teachers whose knowledge and skills have been verified through a peer-reviewed, performance-based process.”

Ball said, “I am so pleased to join an organization that has such a direct impact on improving teaching and learning. Serving on the NBPTS board is an opportunity to help elevate the teaching profession.”

NBPTS provides a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. To date, more than 106,000 teachers have achieved certification, which is available in 25 certificate areas in pre-kindergarten through 12th grade.

At its November meeting, NBPTS named six other new directors in addition to Ball. They are: Melissa M. Albright, a fifth-grade English language arts teacher in Battlefield, Missouri, and past chair of the Missouri Advisory Council for the Certification of Teachers; Jeffrey Charbonneau, a high-school science teacher in Zillah, Washington, named 2013 Teacher of the Year by the Council of Chief State School Officers; Doug Lea, an elementary school music teacher in Howard County, Maryland and chair of the National Board Certified Teacher caucus of the National Education Association (NEA); Rebecca Pringle, a middle school science teacher in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and vice president of the NEA; Cheryl A. Redfield, a junior high school teacher in Gilbert, Arizona, and a member of the Teacher Advisory Council of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; and Lee-Ann Stephens, the 2006 Minnesota Teacher of the Year and current High Achievement Program advocate at St. Louis Park (MN) High School.

For more on NBPTS, visit its website.

Within This Section

News by Topic