Tuesday, January 06, 2009

Deborah Ball receives award for contributions in mathematics education from the Association for Women in Mathematics.

Tags: ball, news

On January 6, 2009, the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) bestowed the nineteenth annual Louise Hay Award to Deborah Loewenberg Ball, dean of the U-M School of Education and William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor. The ceremony was part of the AWM's 2009 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Washington, DC.

The AWM chose Ball in recognition of her deep and wide contributions to mathematics education, including her accomplishments as an elementary mathematics teacher, her investigations and contributions to understanding the mathematical knowledge needed by elementary school teachers, and her visionary leadership in advancing mathematics teacher education in the United States.

According to a citation released by the AWM: "The AWM is pleased to honor Deborah Loewenberg Ball with the 2009 Louise Hay Award for her innovative and crucially important research into the mathematics needed by elementary school teachers, her ability to communicate mathematics to children and related understandings to diverse communities of adults, her healing effect on the divisions among communities, and her effective national and international leadership."

The award is named for Louise Hay, who was widely recognized for her contributions to mathematical logic and for her strong leadership, her devotion to students, and her lifelong commitment to nurturing the talent of young women and men. She was at the University of Illinois at Chicago from 1968 until 1988, the last nine years as head of the Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science.

Ball is the second U-M faculty member to receive this prestigious award: Patricia Shure, senior lecturer emerita in LSA, received the Louise Hay award in 2001.

The Association for Women in Mathematics has posted their citation for Ball and Ball's response on their website.

Within This Section

News by Topic