Thursday, February 21, 2013

Jeffrey Mirel elected to the National Academy of Education

Tags: deans updates, mirel

Jeffrey Mirel, David L. Angus Collegiate Chair at the School of Education and professor of history at the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, has been elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd).

"This is certainly a fitting achievement for Dr. Mirel," said University of Michigan School of Education Dean Deborah Loewenberg Ball. "To be elected to the National Academy of Education is among the highest honors for a faculty member in our field, and Jeff has certainly earned this distinction from his peers. I join Jeff's colleagues in offering him sincere congratulations."

Mirel, who also is a faculty associate in the Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies and in the Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies, focuses his research in the areas of history and politics of urban education and the history of school reform, particularly high school reform. He has authored or co-authored several books including The Rise and Fall of an Urban School System: Detroit 1907-81, for which he won the 1995 Outstanding Book Award of the American Educational Research Association and the 1995-96 Outstanding Book Award of the History of Education Society. He is the co-author of The Failed Promise of the American High School, 1890-1995, which was published in 1999. His most recent book is Patriotic Pluralism: Americanization Education and European Immigrants, published in 2010 by Harvard University Press. In it, he shows evidence of the influence immigrants had on Americanization, long thought to be something that was forced upon immigrants by the educational system.

Mirel has a doctorate from the University of Michigan. Prior to coming to U-M, he was a professor of education at Northern Illinois University and at Emory University, where he was also director of the Division of Educational Studies. Mirel is one of 12 education leaders nationwide to receive honors from NAEd for contributions to educational research and policy development. SOE alumna Anna Neumann also was selected. Neumann is professor of higher education and director of Teachers College's Program in Higher and Postsecondary Education, Columbia University. Founded in 1965, the NAEd consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members engage in professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

Within This Section

News by Topic