Susan Lipschutz, Margaret Ayers Host, and Anna Olcott Smith Fellowship

The Susan Lipschutz Fund for Women Graduate Students was established to honor the memory of Dr. Susan Lipschutz, former senior associate dean of the Rackham Graduate School and associate provost for academic affairs. Many people in the university community esteemed Susan Lipschutz as a valued colleague, mentor, and friend, and as an advocate committed to the support of women students as they pursued their doctoral degrees. The Susan Lipschutz Fund recognizes and supports promising women scholars.

Margaret Ayers Host received a Rackham degree in 1942. She studied at Oxford, was president of the Alumni Association, chair of the Alumnae Council, member of the Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics, and a member of the Rackham Board of Governors. The Margaret Ayers Host Award was established to honor her remarkable contributions as a woman scholar and to the University of Michigan community.

Ella Smith Avery made a gift in 1938 in order to honor the memory of her mother and to support women graduate students at the University of Michigan. According to the terms of the gift, the Anna Olcott Smith Fellowship Endowment is intended to aid women graduate students who show “promise of the development of useful original ideas.”


Any Rackham doctoral program may nominate only one student for the combined competition. Nominees must be women actively pursuing a doctoral degree who have achieved candidacy by the application deadline. Students may receive this award only one time.

Selection Criteria

Award recipients will have demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievement, a sense of social responsibility and an interest in the success of women in the academic community. A selection committee composed of faculty will review all nominees in a common pool.


School of Education application open October 19 through  November 11 at 5:00 p.m.

Rackham deadline: January 12, 2018

Award Description

At least six $5,000 awards will be made for spring/summer support. Based on the availability of funds, additional awards may be made during the competition process.

Nomination procedures

Students in a Rackham doctoral program must be nominated by their program for this award.  Please contact your program. 

Graduate students must submit a completed online packet of materials which includes the following:

Personal statement describing your research, future goals, and contributions to the success of women in the academic community (1,500 words);
Letter of recommendation from your faculty advisor noting your achievement and promise;
Your curriculum vitae (c.v.).

Note: Your program chair must submit a statement of your achievement and potential (1,500 words).

Contact Information

Rackham: 734.764.8119 or

School of Education: Eileen F. Brussolo at 734.936.1829 or

Within This Section


Eileen F. Brussolo

8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

610 E. University Ave.
Room 1228
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1259

Phone: 734.936.1829
or: 734.615.1528
Fax: 734.647.9158

Funding Opportunities